Что такое среднерыночный курс?

Обычно курс обмена валюты представляет собой два значения: курс покупки и курс продажи. Среднерыночная ставка находится посередине между курсами покупки и продажи (именно поэтому она и называется среднерыночной). Это единственная реальная ставка, поскольку она показывает актуальный курс обмена валют без дополнительных комиссий или скрытых наценок.

Как узнать среднерыночный курс?

Поскольку среднерыночная ставка – это среднее значение между курсом продажи и покупки, она постоянно меняется. Вы можете вычислить ее сами, посчитав разницу (“спред”) между ставкой покупки и продажи.
Приведем пример. Допустим, вашему бизнесу, расположенному в Великобритании, необходимо перечислить £1000 поставщикам в Нидерландах. Вам нужно продать GBP и купить евро. Вот как это работает:

  • При помощи сервиса обмена валют вы узнаете, что курс продажи составляет €1.10 за £1.
  • Курс покупки при конвертации EUR в GBP составляет €1.30 за £1.
  • Разница (спред) между €1.10 и €1.30 составляет €0.20.
  • Среднерыночная ставка лежит между двумя величинами, то есть, среднерыночная ставка обмена GBP на EUR составляет £1 к €1.20.

Почему валютные трейдеры не сообщают среднерыночный курс?

Если вам интересно, как зарабатывают валютные трейдеры, вот ответ: они берут среднерыночную ставку и добавляют к ней комиссии и наценки без вашего ведома. При продаже вы должны отдать больше местных денег, чтобы получить нужную сумму в иностранной валюте. При покупке вы получаете меньше иностранной валюты за то же количество местных средств.

Почему важно знать среднерыночный курс?

К сожалению, лишь немногие международные сервисы обмена валюты раскрывают информацию о своих комиссиях. Если только вы не знаете обо всех комиссиях при переводе, знание среднерыночной ставки – единственный способ удостовериться, что обмен валюты выгоден для вас.
Международные платежные сервисы могут “прятать” в стоимость продажи или покупки валюты различные наценки. Если вы знаете среднерыночную ставку, вы сможете понять, какая маржа была добавлена к реальному обменному курсу. Это и есть дополнительная комиссия трейдера.

В отличие от других сервисов, действующих на рынке, Payoneer верит в прозрачность процессов и постоянно работает над тем, чтобы как можно больше людей узнало о среднерыночной ставке и скрытых комиссиях. Когда вы регистрируетесь в  Payoneer и пользуетесь нашими сервисами, мы сообщаем вам реальный курс обмена валюты, по которому будут совершаться ваши транзакции. Никаких скрытых комиссий! 

 

Зарегистрируйтесь в Payoneer и пользуйтесь всеми преимуществами низких комиссий без скрытых наценок. Отчет Let’s Talk Payments сообщает, что при помощи Payoneer можно сэкономить до 71% на комиссиях по сравнению с другими платежными решениями.

FAQ

Что такое среднерыночная ставка?

Среднерыночная ставка – это среднее значение курса обмена валюты, которое находится точно посередине между курсами продажи и покупки.

Что такое курс продажи и покупки валюты?

Это значения того курса, который валютные трейдеры показывают вам, когда вы хотите обменять валюту. Курсы продажи и покупки включают в себя все скрытые комиссии и дополнительные наценки, взимаемые агентном за выполнение транзакции.

Что такое средний курс обмена валюты?

Это курс обмена валюты, значение которого находится посередине между курсами продажи и покупки. Из-за того, что он является средним значением, его называют средний курс обмена или среднерыночная ставка.

Что такое обменная маржа?

Это наценка, которую валютные трейдеры добавляют к среднерыночной ставке. Например, среднерыночный курс доллара к евро составляет $1 к €0.90. Вы хотите обменять $1000 на евро. Вместо того, чтобы продать вам €900, трейдер выставит курс €0.85 за доллар, и вы получите только €850.

Как работает процесс продажи и покупки валюты?

Когда вы меняете деньги, вы либо продаете, либо покупаете валюту. Если вы американский предприниматель, переводящий USD в GBP, вы покупаете иностранную валюту (GBP) за доллары.

В данном случае вы выступаете покупателем, а валютный трейдер – продавцом. Трейдер назначит курс продажи, который, вероятно, окажется ниже среднерыночного курса.

Если вы меняете GBP на USD, вы будете продавать GBP валютному трейдеру, чтобы получить USD. Tрейдер покупает у вас иностранную валюту и назначает курс покупки – как правило, он выше среднерыночной ставки.

All You Need to Know About the Mid-market Rate

If you’re involved in cross border trade, or regularly make or receive international payments, you need to know about the mid market rate.

What Exactly Is the Mid Market Rate?

Usually, when you look up exchange rates, you’ll see two options – the Buy rate and the Sell rate. The mid market rate lies in the middle of the buy and sell exchange rates (which is why it’s called the mid market rate). It’s the only real exchange rate, because it shows you the actual exchange rate between two currencies, without any extra fees or hidden overheads.

How Do I Know the Mid Market Exchange Rate?

Because the mid market rate is between the Buy and Sell rates, it keeps changing. You can work it out for yourself by splitting the difference between the buy and sell rates. The difference between the Buy and Sell rates is called the spread.

Here’s an example: Let’s say that your UK-based eCommerce business needs to pay £1000 to your suppliers in the Netherlands. You need to sell your GBP and buy Euros. Here’s how it works:

  • Your currency exchange service tells you that the Sell rate is €1.10 for £1.
  • The Buy rate for converting Euros into GBP is €1.30 for every £1.
  • The spread is between €1.10 and €1.30 – a spread of €0.20.
  • The Euro mid market rate lies between the two, so the mid market rate for GBP to EUR is £1 to €1.20.

Why Don’t Currency Traders Tell Me the Mid Market Exchange Rate?

If you’ve ever wondered how currency traders make their money, this is your answer: Currency traders take the live mid market rate and add extra fees and overheads without telling you. The Sell rate charges you more of the original currency to get a certain amount of foreign currency. The Buy rate gives you less of the foreign currency for the same amount of your original currency.

Why Does the Mid Market Rate Matter?

Unfortunately, very few international exchange services are transparent about their fees. Unless you can see all the fees involved in the transfer, knowing the mid market rate is the only way to tell if you’re getting a fair deal on your currency exchange.

An international payments service could be hiding all sorts of costs in their Buy or Sell price. If you know the mid market rate, you’ll know how much of a margin has been added onto the real exchange rate to disguise the trader’s extra fees.

Unlike other services available on the market, Payoneer believes in transparency and is working hard to raise awareness for the importance of mid market rate and hidden fees. When you register to your Payoneer account and use our services, we will provide you with the real exchange rate that applies to your transactions with no hidden fees.

 

Sign up for a Payoneer account and benefit from low fees with no hidden costs. A Let’s Talk Payments report found that Payoneer can save you up to 71% of the fees you pay through other payment options.

FAQs

What is Mid Market Rate?

The mid market rate is the exchange rate that falls exactly halfway between the Buy and Sell exchange rates.

What are buy and sell rates for currency?

These are the exchange rates that currency exchange traders show you when you want to change money. The Buy and Sell rate that you’re quoted includes all the hidden fees and extra charges that the exchange agent tacks on to your transaction.

What is middle rate in currency exchange?

This is the currency exchange rate that lies halfway between the current Buy and Sell rates. It’s in the middle of the two extremes – which is why it’s called the middle rate, or mid market exchange rate.

What is exchange rate margin?

This is the profit margin that currency traders add on to the mid market rate. For example, the mid market rate for USD to Euros is $1 to €0.90. You want to exchange $1000 into Euros. Instead of selling you €900, the trader will give you a rate of €0.85 to the dollar, so you only receive €850.

How does buy sell currency work?

When you exchange money, you’re either buying or selling currency. If you’re an American online retailer transferring USD into GBP, you’re buying foreign currency (GBP) using your US dollars.

That makes you the buyer, and the currency trader is the seller. The trader will give you the Sell rate, which is probably lower than the mid market rate.

If you’re exchanging GBP into USD, you’ll be selling GBP back to the currency trader for USD. The trader is buying your foreign currency, so he’ll tell you the Buy rate, which is usually higher than the mid market rate.